Eden Hazard, Diego Costa, Harry Kane among PFA Player of Year nominees.

Diego Costa, Philipe Coutinho, David De Gea, Eden Hazard, Harry Kane and Alexis Sanchez have been nominated for the PFA Player of the Year award, the organisation announced on Thursday.

The Professional Footballers' Association awards the honour annually to the top player in English football, as voted by the players.

Chelsea's Hazard is a front-runner after finishing second to Luis Suarez last season while also eanring the Young Player of the Year award in 2014.

The 24-year-old has scored 12 goals in 31 Premier League starts this season, and added another three goals in the Champions League.

His teammate Costa and Tottenham's Kane top the Premier League goal scoring charts this season with 19, along with Manchester City's Sergio Aguero, who wasn't nominated.

Sanchez has scored 14 goals in 28 league starts for Arsenal with an additional three goals in the Champions League, while Coutinho has six goals in all competitions for Liverpool.

Goalkeeper De Gea has kept 10 clean sheets this campaign for Manchester United. He said: "It's true that last season was good for me from a personal point of view, but I think that things are going even better for me this time around.

"I think I'm competing better, performing well and I think my decision-making is a lot better this season. I'm happy and I'm trying to keep going in the same way and keep improving."

Hazard, Coutinho, De Gea and Kane were also nominated for the Young Player of the Year Award, along with Chelsea goalkeeper Thibaut Courtois and Liverpool's Raheem Sterling.

Source: ESPN FC


Recent Posts

See All