Harry Kane responds to diving claims.

Kane insists he did not dive in Tottenham's north London Derby draw with Arsenal.

Screen Shot [Sky Sports]

Tottenham striker Harry Kane says he didn’t attempt to win a penalty by diving in the north London derby.

The England international went down under a challenge from Arsenal defender Sokratis Papastathopoulos late in the match at the Emirates on Sunday when the score was level, with a few Gunners accusing Kane of trying to con the referee.

However, the 26-year-old believes referee Martin Atkinson shouldn’t have ignored his plea for a foul.

After the game, he told Sky Sports News: "I think so. I think it was that stage of the game where he makes a tired tackle.


"I think if I'm on the halfway line then I get it. When you're in the box, it's kind of 50-50.


"The ref probably thinks I'm looking for it but all I'm trying to do is shield the ball. It is what it is - it could be given in some games but it wasn't today. You move on."



        Advertise With Us